Modified Food Starch
Modified Corn Starch
Red no 2
Calcium stearate is virtually nontoxic and there are no rulings on the use/prohibition of this additive. It is important to note that some flour conditioners contain potentially allergenic enzymes, and dust from certain vitamins (e.g. thiamin, a vasodilator) can be harmful. This could potentially affect persons working in an environment that produces baked goods.
Calcium stearate is considered a “hidden animal ingredient” by vegetarians and vegans.
HOW IS IT USED?
Calcium stearate is used in the production of honey powder and it is used in dry flour based ingredients sold to bakeries. In addition to baked goods and bake mixes, calcium stearate may be added to eggs and egg products, fats and oils, fish products, gravies, hard candy, meat products, poultry products, snack foods, soft candy, and soups and soup mixes. It is also used in a variety of seasonings and flavors such as garlic salt, meat tenderizers, salad-dressing mixes, and vanilla.
Calcium Stearate is used as a stabilizer for plastics. It is also used as a plasticizer in the plastic industry as well as in cosmetics. It is used as a flatting and sanding agent in coatings, inks, and lacquers. It is also applied in tablet manufacturing and it is used as a drying lubricant and dusting agent for rubbers. Additionally, calcium stearate is used as a catalyst in chemical synthesis and as a waterproofing additive in concrete, paper, rockwool, and textiles.